• ::
  • North Caledonian Football Association

Thirteen football clubs from across the Highland and Islands of Scotland have registered for this year's Macleod & MacCallum North Caledonian League - the largest membership the competition has had since 1995.

Member clubs met on Monday June 8 to hold the North Caledonian Football Association's Annual General Meeting, to ratify entries for the forthcoming season, re-elect office bearers and to make the draws for this year's cup competitions.

All eleven clubs who participated in the 2021-22 season renewed their membership for 2022- 23. One new team was admitted via the Pyramid system and a new application has been accepted following consideration of the management committee. This takes our total teams for the 2022-23 season to thirteen.

The association are pleased to welcome new teams Inverness Clachnacuddin 'A' and Fort William - both of whom are former members of the league.

They join our existing members, Alness United, Bonar Bridge, Golspie Sutherland, Halkirk United, Invergordon, Inverness Athletic, Loch Ness, Nairn County 'A', Orkney, St Duthus and Thurso.

Clachnacuddin 'A' have a long, rich history with the North Caley, dating back to its formative years in the 1890s, first winning the league in 1903-04 as the "second eleven" of their Highland Football League parent club. The Lilywhites' reserve combination are the most decorated league champions in North Caledonian League history, having won the championship on fourteen occasions.

Lochaber based Fort William make their return having last won the North Caledonian League in 1984-85, completing a treble of trophies in their last season before moving up to the Highland Football League. Their inclusion in this year's competition remains subject to an ongoing appeal submitted to the Scottish FA.

The new season will kick off on Saturday, August 20, 2022.

The following persons were elected by the management committee to serve as office bearers for the 2022-23 season:
President: Iain Whitehead
Vice President: Niall Harkiss
League Secretary: Sandy Stephen
Treasurer: Euain Penny

Orkney, due to projections of a lengthier season, have elected to withdraw from this year's cup competitions. Fort William, also, have elected to withdraw from participation in cup competitions.

Draws for the Football Times Cup and North Caledonian Cup were made at the AGM as below:

Football Times Cup
1st Round:

Halkirk United v Thurso
Alness United v St Duthus
Golspie Sutherland v Inverness Athletic

Quarter Final:
Halkirk United or Thurso v Alness United or St Duthus Golspie Sutherland or Inverness Athletic v Clachnacuddin A Invergordon v Bonar Bridge
Loch Ness v Nairn County A

North Caledonian Cup
1st Round:

Bonar Bridge v Golspie Sutherland Clachnacuddin A v Nairn County A Thurso v Invergordon

Quarter Final:
Bonar Bridge or Golspie Sutherland v Halkirk United Clachnacuddin A or Nairn County A v Alness United Thurso or Invergordon v Inverness Athletic
St Duthus v Loch Ness

Season fixtures will made available for release in due course.
Twitter: @NorthCaleyFA