AGM notes, pre-season update & cup draws

Posted on Monday, July 15th, 2019

At a meeting of the league management committee and representatives of member clubs of the North Caledonian Football Association, matters ahead of the new season were discussed and the cup draws for 2019-20 competitions were made.



The election of office bearers resulted in a change of roles for outgoing league secretary Iain Whitehead who has been appointed President of the Association. Joining the league management committee for the first time is Euain Penny (Orkney) who was appointed Vice President, while Sandy Stephen (Inverness) was elected as the new League Secretary. Niall Harkiss (St Duthus) was elected as Fixtures Secretary and Treasurer.



Acknowledging a letter of application from Bonar Bridge Football Club, it was unanimously agreed that the club be accepted into the association and included in all competitions from 2019-20.

The clubs who will hold full membership in 2019-20 were confirmed as follows:

Alness United FC*
Bonar Bridge FC
Bunillidh Thistle FC
Golspie Sutherland FC
Halkirk United FC
Invergordon FC
Inverness Athletic FC
Orkney FC**
St. Duthus FC
Thurso FC

* Alness United FC still to confirm participation for season 2019-20
** Orkney FC will not participate in the Football Times Cup

Two clubs were accepted for guest membership of the Association for the purpose of playing in cup competitions:

Nairn County FC (U20) – Participating in the Jock Mackay Memorial Cup and the North Caledonian Cup

Lewis & Harris FC – Participating in the Jock Mackay Memorial Cup and the Football Times Cup



The Jock Mackay Memorial Cup rounds were drawn as follows:

1st Round:
Inverness Athletic vs. Alness United
St. Duthus vs. Bunillidh Thistle
Bonar Bridge vs. Golspie Sutherland
Orkney vs. Lewis & Harris

2nd Round:
Inverness/Alness vs. Nairn County U20s
St. Duthus/Bunillidh vs. Halkirk United
Bonar Bridge/Golspie vs. Invergordon
Orkney/Lewis & Harris vs. Thurso

Inverness/Alness/Nairn vs. St. Duthus/Bunillidh/Halkirk
Bonar/Golspie/Invergordon vs. Orkney/Lewis/Thurso

First round ties will be played on 31st August/7th September.


The Football Times Cup will be played in a regional format, comprised of two groups - North and South. The winners of each group will meet in a playoff final to determine the winners of the cup.

The bracketing will be as follows:

North - Bonar Bridge, Bunillidh Thistle, Golspie Sutherland, Halkirk United, Thurso
South - Alness United, Invergordon, Inverness Athletic, Lewis & Harris and St. Duthus

Each team will play two home matches and two away matches. Head to head record will separate clubs on the same points, followed by goal difference.

Regional group matches will be played in November and December.


The Pentland Ferries North Caledonian Cup rounds were drawn as follows:

1st Round:
Halkirk United vs. Bonar Bridge
Orkney vs. Nairn County U20s
Thurso vs. Inverness Athletic

2nd Round:

Halkirk/Bonar Bridge vs. Invergordon
Orkney/Nairn U20s vs. Golspie Sutherland
Thurso/Inverness vs. Bunillidh Thistle
St. Duthus vs. Alness United


Halkirk/Bonar/Invergordon vs. Orkney/Nairn/Golspie
Thurso/Inverness/Bunillidh vs. St. Duthus/Alness

First round ties will be played on 1st / 8th February.



The North Caledonian FA league management committee can be contacted using the following contact details:

Iain Whitehead (President) – 07834 346313 - @iainw247
Euain Penny (Vice-President) – 07771 262623
Sandy Stephen (Secretary) – 07921 570058 – @Sandy_Stephen
Niall Harkiss (Fixtures/Treasurer) – 07527 134574  - @NiallFH
Twitter: @NorthCaleyFA